My experience at WordCamp Nashik, 2016

WordCamp Nashik was definitely one of the best WordCamp’s I have attended in India. (I had attended WC Bhopal and WC Mumbai before this)

 

To recollect all my memories on how it began, Sanket asked me about my plans on travelling and staying in Nashik. I myself was very unsure since it was a city I had never visited before and was clueless. Everyday we would meet in person and chat over Slack to finalise the arrangements for our travel and stay. But that never materialised until the last day. 😛

 

Finally, another colleague, Sandeep, found a really good place where we could stay the night and booked it. Later when I shared this hotel details with the rest of our group, they were convinced it was a good decision. (Tripadvisor reviews did help)

 

One thing led to another and we were soon discussing the idea of a road trip to Nashik on our motorcycles. The nervousness whether we would be able to complete the ride wasn’t enough to kill the fondness of a road trip and it wasn’t long before our entire group agreed for one.

 

We decided to leave at 3 a.m. to avoid highway traffic and frankly I was quite scared since it was already drizzling at around 1:30 a.m. I still recollect it was a full moon night and the beautiful landscapes almost made me lose focus from the road. After endless breaks, coffees, farsaan and jokes we entered Nashik City by morning.

 

The journey had already been a memorable one for me even before the WordCamp had started. Coming to the evening before the event, I received a ping from a friend Vailancio I had first met at a meetup in Goa held at the Next Big Thing office . It had been long since we had met and decided to catch up at Jupiter Hotel where most of the attendees were staying. It was a pleasant evening with long conversations and a lot of learning.

 

Coming to the day of WC Nashik, the venue looked like it has been specifically built to host a WordCamp. Everything was so well planned and one cannot help but acknowledge the level of detail with which the “experience” was designed. Starting with the breakfast we moved towards the auditorium for the first session by Hari. I loved all the sessions and it would be inaccurate if I had to pick any one session over the other.

 

I like how the panel discussions facilitate community members share their experiences and get more people involved. If you see #WCNashik you would know the frequency at which we were sharing updates from WC Nashik and that couldn’t have been possible without the seamless internet. (My speedtest gave me 40 mbps, that’s FAST!)

 

Overall, the memories of this WordCamp would be with me forever for all the right reasons. 🙂  Finally some pictures from the journey below.

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Thanks Joel for such a nice post about #WCNashik. Well, didn’t get time to run the SpeedTest so thanks for sharing the 40 Mbps speed experience. Looking forward to meet at Udaipur or other WCs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

